Skip to content

Archive for

eatery 1025 :: You Should Go To There!


Utah… a culinary wonderland! (?)  Yep…I just used Utah and culinary in the same sentence!  I do this not out of foolishness…but because I actually know!  Of course, I could spend at least an hour or two telling you all about the secret spots, my new faves, the good ‘ole standby’s, the uniquely Utah locales, and of course where to find the best beer…nope…I’m just going to tell you about one little place that is well-deserving of your attention!  eatery 1025.  

I am not the first to take notice…and will not be the last.  Due to my lack to photography skills…I have borrowed a photo from the Salt lake Tribune as my attempts hardly did justice to the beauty of the chilled beet and cucumber soup!

(photo courtesy of Francisco Kjolseth/Salt Lake Tribune)

There is just one little quirky thing about eatery 1025…it’s technically in Bountiful.  Don’t let this stop you…it is worth the trip…right off the freeway…no big deal…it’s closer Alta and Snowbird!

The self-describe their menu as clean with seasonal ingredients.  I would agree although I’d throw in a splash of creativity, a slight lean towards gluten-free and vegetarian and a knack for taking dishes found on many menus and making them unique and extraordinary.  Executive Chef, Chelsa Best and Sous Chef, Liam Connelly have put their all into this little place and expanding the gastronomic horizons of Bountiful!  (and they have a tiny kitchen – having worked in kitchens, I know the challenges of tight spaces…you’ve got to have some happiness in the kitchen if you want your food to have love…which it does!)

Blah, blah, blah…get on to the good stuff…

Spicy Turkey Lettuce Wraps

Sampling of side dishes:  honey-glazed carrots, rosemary fingerlings and curried cauliflower

Caesar Salad – parmesan frico, hearts of romaine, chopped hard-boiled egg, grilled red onions, crouton fingers, and last…and my favorite…fried capers!

Zucchini ribbons with chicken sausage and ricotta salata – no noodles here, just zucchini.  Fresh and brilliant!

Can you tell that we ordered many things…

Sweet pea spinach salad with caramelized onions, pine nuts and topped with salmon

Grilled ham and cheese with mustard and caramelized onions on sourdough

You can’t go wrong with a traditional and nicely grilled cheese sandwich

Chicken gyro on fresh pita

The space is bright and inviting mimicking the character of the dishes.  Currently they are serving breakfast (go for the oatmeal brûlée!) and lunch and will hopefully be serving dinner this fall.

Of course, I couldn’t leave without a sweet nibble…and truthfully, despite the bursting-at-the-seams feeling in my stomach…I could have squeezed in at least two more of these…they were that good!

Vanilla cupcakes with fresh strawberry mascarpone frosting!

(do you want to know a secret…?  these cupcakes are gluten-free!  I am not usually a fan of gluten-free…and I would not have known…delicious and made fresh daily on site!  Shhhhhh…don’t tell anyone!)

Overall, the menu is filled with options to satisfy both traditional and eccentric tastes while not overreaching.

What they do…they are doing well.

You Should Go To There!

eatery1025 •1025 South 500 West • Bountiful, Utah • 84010

**I may or may not know and or be related to the sous chef.  This in no way affected my overwhelmingly positive and delicious experience!  🙂