Skip to content

Almond Butter and Lavender Cookies


Finally a weekend that I did not do any work – as in work for my employer – and it was the first in quite a while.  We tried to take advantage of the time as much as possible and decided to work on an ongoing cookie project.  The idea is to make a basic peanut butter cookie a lot more interesting and a bit surprising.

Starting our with freshly ground almonds – no extra ingredients – we were sure no matter what happened…it would be tasty!  I love lavender…sometimes in food, always in scents…but we knew that too much can make a cookie taste ‘soapy’ and we were hoping to avoid this pitfall.  I’ll let the photos tell the story.

White and brown sugar both add a little something different.

Beginning to cream the sugars and the butter – the butter could have warmed up a little longer.

We used a mortar and pestle to grind up and ‘bloom’ the lavender.  Deciding how much to use was the toughest part of the process.

Once the butters and sugars are creamed, well-beaten eggs were added along with a few tablespoons of cream, a pinch of salt and a cup of the almond butter.  Once all of that was incorporated, flour, a tsp. of baking soda and a little over 2 tsp. of crushed lavender were added and mixed until smooth.

A cookie/ice cream scoop was used to portion the cookies onto the sheet.

They look great right before going in the oven

And then they baked – only for about 10 minutes at 350 – but they spread quite a bit and were not quite as dense as we were expecting.  I purposefully have not posted the full recipe as we need to tweak it a little more.  But overall, the flavor was great.  The longer they sit, the more intense the lavender becomes.  The house smelled so good while they cooked.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. J ledbetter #

    Liz, I really enjoy your blog. It inspired me to try my own version of Lavender Almond Butter cookies. I must say that mine were disappointing. Any number of reasons could account for the failure (wrong lavender, too much lavender, wrong almond butter, wrong peanut butter recipe to start with). Anyway, I am curious about your insights on this concept. Aunt Judy

    July 10, 2010
    • Thanks for reading! I think the lavender can be the trickiest part – it can become almost ‘soapy’ tasting if you use too much. I believe I purchased some from Whole Foods, or a similar store. They might process the lavender slightly differently depending on the intended purpose. Also, I would try making the cookie without the lavender to see if it is the cookie recipe itself…or the almond butter in the recipe. I used almond butter from a health food store that I ground in the store and I believe they were roasted but unsalted almonds. I was actually planning on revisiting the recipe…or maybe a variation of it in the next few weeks. Let me know how your investigation goes…and I’ll keep you posted. Again, thanks for reading – I really appreciate it!

      July 12, 2010
  2. Amy #

    These look really delicious, and what a gorgeous golden brown colour they turned out! Can’t wait to discover more of your recipes, lovely blog! 🙂

    July 23, 2012

Leave a Reply

