Skip to content

Dinner last week…


Herb Roasted Pork Tenderloin

served with lightly glazed dill carrots and brown rice, barley and radish seeds

Lately, I’ve found myself taking more photos of my food and cooking…many of which don’t deserve a full post with recipe and extensive literary meandering…so I’ve added a new category for just such occasions.  Frankly, if I sat down and wrote a page about everything I ate…I’d never leave the computer.

The above dinner was inspired by a need for some home cooking…at the end of a week in which I hadn’t felt the heat of the stove, heard the sound of vegetables being chopped and the sizzle of something in a pan.  I needed to cook.  We’ve been on the verge of hot weather again…so it was also one last attempt at a meal that just loses its appeal when the thermometer hits 85º.

Herbs from the farmer’s market, lemon juice from our front yard Meyer lemons and garlic were thrown into a mini-cuisinart together with some olive oil for a very fragrant rub/coating.  I seasoned the tenderloin and seared on all sides, then coated it with the herb, lemon, garlic and threw it in the oven to roast.  Meanwhile, steamed some carrots, pulled the lid off, added some honey, salt and pepper and let the water cook off…throw in a hunk of butter and the dill…and poof – glazed carrots!

note:  It was obviously still cold enough to make such a wintry meal…I’m wearing a turtleneck sweater.

While the tenderloin is resting, I made a quick pan sauce using the delicious drippings, some broth, herbs and as always finishing the sauce with some butter.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

