Skip to content

Playing Catch Up…


(a.k.a. – here’s a lot of what I’ve been making, eating, and enjoying…)

I think, perennially, I fall behind.  As the beginning of school arrives, I am reminded of all of those ‘first days’ of school I had long ago.  I also work at a school…so it is hard to not have a little empathy for those awkward middle-schoolers, some excitement for the brand new kindergarteners, and a touch of dread for those freshman.  I also hate picture day.  The day I thought I had finally outgrown…and now it has come back to haunt me.  It’s still just as bad…even as an adult.  Back to the falling behind thing – each ‘first day’ began fresh…new classroom, new supplies, new books, new locker, new teachers, maybe new friends…and then it ended…with homework.  Usually lots of homework…which meant feeling as though I would never finish it all.

If I’m being honest, I think I operate fairly well in procrastination mode.  In fact, I’m not sure I would know what to do with myself if I completed things before they were due, proactively managed my life, and generally acted as if I were an overachiever.  Not that I’m proud of my lean towards the procrastination end of the spectrum.  Indeed, I believe my life could take on a whole new vibrancy if I were to jump the gun and be able to get things done.  I’d probably reduce my stress levels, gain an increased sense of accomplishment, feel superior to others…and generally be more like Martha Stewart and belong in the pages of Real Simple magazine. Tangent.  Okay, back to procrastinating…I should have posted more regularly…somehow…it just didn’t happen.  Onward!

So…this summer has not been devoid of cooking, eating, imbibing and entertaining…just void of posting about such things.  Here is a brief run through of a few of the dishes I managed to get a photo or two of before they went down the hatch.

Summer rolls with shrimp, cilantro, fresh veggies and rice vermicelli.  Served with peanut dipping sauce.

Carne Asada Tacos!  *Delicious*

Roasted Poblano & Pasilla Peppers Stuffed with Rice and Queso Fresco!

Flank steak over greens with potato cakes and heirloom tomatoes

Raspberry & Blackberry Clafoutis

Cheddar & Chive Biscuits

So tasty…and there is more to come!  Everything was delicious and I’m *hoping* to still get posts up for many of the recipes above.  Hope your summer was just as delicious as mine.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

